Frequently Asked Questions
What are the requirements for a Colorado Medical Marijuana (MMJ) Card?
Adults must be a Colorado resident, be at least 18 years of age, and have a qualifying medical condition.
Minors are eligible if they and their primary parent are Colorado residents, and the minor has a qualifying medical condition. All minor patients must see two providers and submit two provider certifications.
What do I need to bring to my evaluation?
You will need to bring a valid photo ID, such as a Colorado State Driver's License or State ID.
Medical records aren't necessary but are encouraged.
What are the qualifying medical conditions for obtaining an MMJ card?
Autism Spectrum Disorders
HIV or AIDS
Persistent Muscle Spasms
Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Any condition which a physician could prescribe an opioid
Each case will be evaluated individually and decisions will be made at the discretion of each medical professional.
What are the possession and cultivation limits for MMJ?
Colorado Medical Marijuana Law allows for up to two ounces of usable marijuana per patient.
No more than six marijuana plants with three or fewer being mature, flowering plants that are producing a usable form of marijuana.
However, these limits may be increased at the doctor's discretion with an extended plant count.
How do I apply for my MMJ Card?
After you have been evaluated by our medical professional, we will submit your certification to the state electronically.
You will then complete the application online at https://cdphe.colorado.gov/medicalmarijuana. There is a non-refundable processing fee of $25 at the time of application. However, you may qualify for a fee waiver if your household income is 185% of the Federal Poverty Level or less. Review annual adjusted household incomes at https://aspe.hhs.gov/topics/poverty-economic-mobility/poverty-guidelines.
Applications submitted online with all correct information are processed and approved in 1-3 business days.
Do I have to apply online?
Mail-in applications are reserved for those who do not have access to internet. If that is the case you will need to complete and send the following documents through certified mail:
Application for patients under 18
Copy of your Colorado ID Or Driver's license
A $25 check or money order made out to CDPHE or a certified copy of your most recent Colorado Tax Return and the fee waiver form
It will take approximately 6 - 8 weeks for your mailed application to be processed. All correspondence will take place by mail. this means it can take 6-8 weeks to receive a response each time you contact the registry.